DELILA’s critical friend

On Friday I had a really useful talk with Sandra Griffiths from Queens University Belfast who is the ‘Critical Friend’ to DELILA, appointed by the Higher Education Academy. Sandra is a really experienced educational developer, a lecturer in community education and also a HEA accreditor. She’ll be advising us on ensuring our resources are suitable for HEA courses, and helping us illustrate how information and digital literacy resources can be mapped to the HEA Professional Standards Framework. I’ve added Sandra to our JISCmail list and will be inviting her to join our Steering Group meeting in January. I’ve also given her an account on our blog, so if she wishes she can post her thoughts.

It was great to get some feedback on our project plan from Sandra, she also said she was hoping to find out more about digital and information literacies. So I started off sending her the SCONUL 7 pillars, which was new to her. I think we forget that such standards are less well known outside the library community.

I also learnt quite a bit more about the process of accreditation with the HEA. Not being an educational developer myself, it’s something I had no real knowledge of to date. We had a really interesting talk about how some parts of the PSF are very woolly and difficult to measure – the ‘professional values’ was the particular example that Sandra used. How do teachers demonstrate and evidence such values as their commitment to development of learning communities? Would setting up a Moodle forum count? Anyway, just some thoughts from our talk. I’m disappointed that I’m not able to attend the meeting the HEA are organising for our strand later in November about the PSF. I hope someone else from the DELILA team can attend in our place. More updates later in the week, as Thursday will be my DELILA day, when I am hoping to complete the audit of digital and information literacy resources at LSE that I’m carrying out with Matt Lingard and Maria Bell.

This entry was posted in delila, digitalliteracy, HEA, infolit, LSE, ukoer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

